Անգլերեն

Assignment for 15.11.2021

Grammar

Ex.a

1.We need to have the central heating repaired soon, before it starts getting cold.
2.The Chinese economy is growing and as a result the standard of living is rising.
3. We were very late because of a traffic accident on the motorway.
4. Everybody seemed to enjoy the barbecue even though the weather wasn’t very warm.
5. She wore a loose-fitting dress so people wouldn’t notice that she’d put on weight.
6. Will the person who left his boarding pass at Security please go back and collect it?
7. If we lived closer to each another, we’d probably spend more time together.
8.Joe is quite reserved- he never talks about himself.
9. When I was young, my family used to spend every summer holiday at the seaside.
10. This street looks different from when I was a child. Didn’t it use to be a sweet shop on the corner?

Ex.b

1.I need to pay someone to repair my glasses.
I need to have repaired my glasses.
2. If we but a dishwasher, it won’t be necessary to do the washing up.
If we buy a dishwasher, we don’t have to do the washing-up.
3.The last time i saw him was in 2010.
I haven’t seen him since 2010.
4.They managed to get here even though the traffic was heavy.
They managed to get here despite the heavy traffic.
5.It was foggy, so the flight was cancelled.
The flight was cancelled due to the fog.
6. She wore dark glasses so that she wouldn’t be recognize.
She wore dark glasses so as she wouldn’t be recognized.
7. If you learn a few phrases, the local people really appreciate it.
If one learns a few phrases, the local people really appreciate it.
8. Jane sees Martha once a month.
Jane and Marta see each other once a month.
9. The children wrapped the present on their own.
The children wrapped the present by themselves.
10. My aunt always use to bake biscuits for us.
My aunt would bake biscuits for us.

Vocabulary

Ex.a

1.He’s quite an unadventurous person- he doesn’t like taking risks.
2.They suddenly got married on holiday in Las Vegas-they’re very spontaneous.
3.She never asks for anyone’s help. She’s completely self sufficient.
4.He won’t listen to me, but he might change his mind if you talk to him.
5.My brother wasn’t very sympathetic when I failed my driving test— in fact, he just laughed!
6.He was determined to be a musician even as a boy.
7. He always finds a solution to problems — he’s very resourceful.
8. He seems tough, but deep down he’s quite sensitive.

Ex.b

1.My kids can be a real pain in the neck when we eat out — they’re so fussy!
2. My grandfather’s always had a quick temper. We were quite scared of him when we were young.
3.He can be a bit bad-tempered, but he’s got a heart of gold.
4.My boss is very down to earth; you can talk to him about anything.
5.I’ve read the instructions three times, but I still can’t get my head around them.
6.What’s that actor’s name? It’s on the tip of my tongue!
7.She got completely the wrong end of the stick. I was offering her a promotion and she thought she was getting fired!

Ex.c

1.She’s been off / out of work for three days with the flu.
2.I won’t get that job; I don’t have the qualifications / benefits.
3. He resigned before they could quit / sack him.
4.I’m hoping to get promoted / a rise to a more senior post.
5.I must have applied for / to dozens of jobs.
6. Job-searching / Job-hunting can be really demoralizing.
7.Factory work is usually very monotonous / motivating.
9. The manager is in charge of 400 staff / workforce.

Ex.d

1.I wish there were more good restaurants in our neighbourhood. neighbour
2. There are training courses available for people who have a fear of flying. afraid
3. Don’t let this misunderstanding get in the way of our friendship. friend
4.The loss of his job affected him very badly. lose
5. Freedom of speech is a basic human right. free
6. The news of their engagement caused great excitement. excite
7. My memory is getting worse as I get older. remember

Leave a comment